The Cuckoo’s Calling

I grew up reading the Harry Potter books. I loved them – I loved the characters, the setting, the magic, Hogwarts, everything. Naturally, I grew to respect J.K. Rowling, too. In fact, she’s one of the novelists who inspired me to start writing.

Since I liked her and her seven-book series so much, I picked up The Casual Vacancy the day it was released – even though I had only the vaguest idea what it was about. I thought its theme was actually darker than the last couple of Harry Potter books (but looking back at the character deaths, I’m not that sure anymore). The fact that it was based on reality was interesting for me, though, so you can say that I still liked it.

Image

It’s because of my admiration for Ms. Rowling that I picked up The Cuckoo’s Calling by “Robert Galbraith”. It was about a month ago that I heard about her sneaky (and controversial) pseudonym stint, and I was actually really shocked. I can’t blame her for wanting to release a book without being subjected to the usual publicity that comes with a bestselling author releasing a novel, though.

Today I finally got the opportunity to buy a copy of The Cuckoo’s Calling for myself. I’m very excited to read it! I’ve read a number of reviews when I heard the news, and it sounds like it’s actually a pretty good crime novel. More slightly negative reviews by critics have cropped up quite recently, though.

Still, I’m reserving my judgment for until after I’ve read the whole book. I think Ms. Rowling is really talented as a writer, but I don’t think I should let my biases get in the way of my reading, especially now that I’m trying to take it seriously.

Leave a Reply

